Photo Challenge #34 “Wrap”

Januz Miralles 34

Januz Miralles

Lucifer extends a hoof

And I a pulse-less wrist

For his reception.

I shall be his bride

But a minion does not

Exist within

This barren cage

For no heart have I

To sway and no life to give.

 

The raven holds firm

My rib, a perch, a conjecture,

A murder convalescing

Between horizontal masts

Do you find me a witch?

A monster in a turban

Of human flesh?

Do you find my gaze

Too direct, a conspirator

For a darker premise?

Do you find my smile

In need of gauze?

A great gash

Like a flag laid to grave

Do you find me

In nightmares

Stretching your tears

As rubber bands?

Or in dreams too raw

To mention?

 

I am beautiful

If not strange

A handful of pomegranates

To consummate

Sacs of blood, liquid gems

A groom to occupy

The space that time

Once tamed.

The stars fizzle out

One by one, a waltz

Only the dead can name

I take my lover’s fiery breath

Into my glacial limbs

And for a moment

I can dance again.

*

I saw the portrait and just got the idea of her being Satan’s mistress.

18 responses to “Photo Challenge #34 “Wrap”

  1. These are powerfully emotive words and images, frightening for some i dare say and challenging for all, but the writing is top class and the use of rhetorical questions softens the blow at times and is, i’d venture, necessary.
    Kudos!

  2. There are some really striking phrases/lines in your poem:
    “Lucifer extends a hoof And I a pulse-less wrist”
    “For no heart have I To sway and no life to give.”
    “My rib, a perch, a conjecture,”
    “If not strange A handful of pomegranates”
    “Into my glacial limbs”

    This is really cool.

  3. I always feel honoured reading your poems and to be part of your prompts…this will certainly go into my sequel at Traces, Light Years Away…the image I mean…your words reiterate many thoughts my Stella has.

  4. I love the sinister, yet beautifully abstract quality of:
    “The raven holds firm
    My rib, a perch, a conjecture”

    Before the poem heads towards genuine terror with:
    “In nightmares
    Stretching your tears
    As rubber bands”

    I think it’s the tactile element that makes that last image so unsettling – the character snuck right up on us, close enough to touch, before we realised… 😉

  5. What an inspired piece – what an idea! Satan’s mistress!

    There are so many striking and powerful phrases here Yves – you have painted a sensual yet strikingly macabre yet beautiful and sensual image of a woman giving herself over. It is truly astonishing – I am captivated by your style and form – and strong gift of language. Great job 😀

Leave a Reply

