Hammer

DSCN1661

I will never be forgiven,

Lest of all my considerations.

Each accommodation

Is met with defiance

If I do nothing

I will be accused of disregard

If I intervene, contempt

Whose blame is fairest to assume?

 

I am sorry for us both

For the immaturity

That coerces protest

For the assumption of default

For the obstinacy

Which hangs as ivory

From a butcher’s ears.

 

I fear my delusions

The one’s that arise

In moments of distress

Like carbon monoxide

My smile clashes

As Hephaestus’s hammer

With the layers

Of your mighty armament.

What is the difference

When every word spoken

Slices the air cruelly

Even love can be an insult

When voiced to harvest favor.

10 responses to “Hammer

  1. I fear my delusions / the ones that arise in moments of distress / like carbon monoxide

    What is the difference / when every word spoken / slices the air cruelly.

    Such well crafted and evocative images, Yves.

  2. You are a wonderful poet! And BTW that monolith looks like the black monolith from 2001 a Space Odyssey…

  3. A great closing… the words can be cruel, and even godly hammers can’t overcome the armament. Your words speak to me of an urgency to overcome the barrier, which exists just because it does. Powerful writing. 🙂
    I hope you are doing good, Yves. I apologize for being such a lousy host for the haiku prompt. I will be writing an e-mail to you. My first semester exams are coming up and I won’t be able to post for about 2-3 weeks. I promise to inform you before hand.
    Take care.
    -HA

    • Thank you so much Anmol =) The prompts you write are absolutely amazing! I understand what it is like to be a student though and it can get pretty hectic. Goodluck with your exams!

Leave a Reply

