Curtsey

Week 33

The stronger the aegis

The weaker the man.

Silence is known to stalk,

To prey on those

Who swear vigilance

Against injury.

 

I fell upon

The world today

As a dog curtsies

To its master

I had thought my needs simple

A pat on the head,

A tilt of the chin

The inflection of a brow

Crossing the equator.

The gestures I seek

Are but tokens.

If an arcade, my heart might

Not cite malengine

The game would be a game

And I would not suffer for it.

But I want for something real

A plum or perhaps a sword.

 

I do not know

Is the only the honest answer

I cannot know

I refuse to know

I yearn to debase myself

For the sake of comfort

For a reprieve

That cannot be transmitted

No matter where

These hands attach themselves.

 

I am probably less useful

In the aftermath

Than I was in times of war

I am programmed for war

Peace is a shoe

That does not fit

And no amount of force

Will elevate my status.

26 responses to “Curtsey

  1. I have read this four times and I love it more with each reading. You have perceptively captured an elusive essence that is so raw…..and have expressed it so exquisitely.

  2. The opening two lines, and this part, are my favorites:
    “If an arcade, my heart might
    Not cite malengine
    The game would be a game
    And I would not suffer for it.
    But I want for something real
    A plum or perhaps a sword.”

  3. At times we’all bite off more than we can chew.
    Set a spell and recollect that peace offers good too.
    Better to hunt our grub than other men.

    I think we more are programmed to survive than to make war.
    Though the news would have us believe otherwise.

  4. Deeply moving as the imagery brings up such vividness – at least in my mind – but such are the choices you use so well Yves. Truly a stunning piece – with references to war – and how peace doesn’t suit – it is a difficult shoe to wear when one is used to the other, yes? – and yet somewhere – deep inside – the soul aches for what it truly desires – and so we weep for the struggles that bind us.

    Lovely and powerful 🙂

      • Yes – PTSD and other traumas can embroil us in battles that we are too comfortable with, yet we hate them for being such a part of our being; sometimes I tell myself “Send me a new skin please” this one fits no more, but I’m too comfortable in it.

Leave a Reply

