Wordle #31 “Cenotaph”

Week 31

When will these invisible armies recede?

These murders, these lichen-gripped cenotaphs

My neighbors, my brothers will you dismiss me?

Feast on my currency, on the enamel that holds my heart

That candied apple, will you tear away

The sweetened plastic sheath and disregard

The grainy flesh underneath?

Do your eyes follow the slope of my breasts?

The slope of my breath as it escalates in plain sight?

Will you step on my bones,

Rip the nuance from my smile and if the mold

Cannot be made to shelter will you break me?

 

What a terrible crunch the soul makes.

I do not need to be a miracle rising again

A new woman for every trend and occasion.

I do not need your idols, your face, your laws

Your prejudice I know who I am

So why must you root me out and say

That I am not fine, not sane, not prosperous

When it’s your mirror that breaks.

Why must I apologize when I have lived gently

Despite the cradle of your violence

Despite your persistence, always turning,

To forgive is a miracle, to forgive is a hex.

21 responses to “Wordle #31 “Cenotaph”

  1. The point of view in this work is outstanding for it makes the poem not only intimate to the reader but dynamic and compelling. First rate – Kudos!
    My best to you
    john

  2. ‘What a terrible crunch the soul makes’ This is such a powerful line for me Yves. Excellent use of the words. Did you mean the repetition of forgive in the final line?

    • Thank you so much Michael, I did in this case but thanks for pointing it out because I do end up with some rather bizarre typos and need all the help I can get in finding them lol

  3. There are some very interesting images here – and for what I personally perceive – I’m hearing sounds as I read your words – in companionship to them – which is an entirely new experience for me. It’s beautiful and powerful – very provocative! Well done Yves 😀

  4. “I do not need to be a miracle rising again
    A new woman for every trend and occasion.”

    So many great lines. But I can identify with those because I was never one to fit into anyone else’s molds. Thanks for the new word!

  5. Wow. This is phenomenal:

    “Will you step on my bones,
    Rip the nuance from my smile”

    “if the mold
    Cannot be made to shelter will you break me?”

    “To forgive is a miracle, to forgive is a hex.”

Leave a Reply

