Tale Weaver’s Prompt #26

Noite Sinistra

Noite Sinistra

I have never encountered

A depth from which

I could not descend

For every secret confided

Another skeleton assembles

Behind a denser wall

Of prejudice.

 

Orchestral or incidental

We find in each other

Some token of  our own

Personal horror.

Charon claims more

Copper than can be

Retrieved posthumous

And I stand before you now

An impoverished man

Who for want of dignity

Has given into the unspeakable

 

I have promoted injustice

For the approximation

Of a freedom that I was

Never invited to possess

And blood has proven

Stronger than mortar

And blood has proven

That hell has no cause

To wait for death

 

For every step governed

There exists an irretrievable

Moment of silence

And all this time I have been

Screwing your ghost

Hoping to scavenge some

Semblance of decency

Amongst the ruins

That have become me

 

I remember my life

As more than it was

Even though I have

Never known a present

That was not diminished

By my own departure.

I must never know the extent

Of what I have done

And I must never know

In whose name I served

Because the admission

Alone would kill me

29 responses to “Tale Weaver’s Prompt #26

  1. This is just superb — especially “I have promoted injustice /
    For the approximation / Of a freedom that I was / Never invited to possess … And blood has proven / That hell has no cause / To wait for death”. Wow.

  2. She
    fought
    against
    the
    patriarchal
    fathers

    she
    was
    caught

    chained
    and
    left
    to
    die

    an
    example
    to
    other
    females

    a
    warning
    telling
    them
    to
    never
    overstep
    their
    crippling
    bounds

    but
    the
    women
    burned
    with
    an
    inner
    fire

    a
    fire
    fueled
    by
    hatred
    injustice
    and
    violence

    death
    to
    patriarchy
    was
    emblazoned
    on
    their
    hearts

    and
    they
    smiled

    knowing
    that
    its
    end
    was
    near

  3. At times when I comment, I often do not want to just say, “great”, or “lovely”…for me only I like to say what it is that moved me or what I liked…so pardon, at times if I go on a bit too wordy here and there…

    “Even though I have

    Never known a present

    That was not diminished

    By my own departure”

    —I really enjoy this particular part…I know poetry written by the author can have a different interpretation that what a reader may gain, and for me, I gain that the “character” here is not living in the moment and is distracted…at least for me, I gain that interpretation…and, if otherwise, I still love the line.

  4. And all this time I have been/ Screwing your ghost/ Hoping to scavenge some/ Semblance of decency/ Amongst the ruins/ That have become me

    This is but one part of a stanza that is so powerfully brutal yet speaks of a truth that knows the depths of most – although not admitted by the collective.

    Just another stunning and powerfully written piece 🙂

Leave a Reply

