We Are

Fetal

Brooke Shaden

She folds as a willow

Across my purposeful illusions

As if she alone could taste

The tears mildewing behind

My soldiering lips.

I would know her

But she never speaks as such

 

I call to her eyes

To the veils of ostrich feathers

Eclipsing her ascent

She waits, she bates, she sees

Demons in the Rorschach

I propagate the seeds of hate

Because love alone is hysterical

 

She gathers clovers

Into the spines of old Bibles

If only God could smile

With and not at

And she stirs

Electric as winter

On the nape of my neck

What is there to say

That she cannot summon?

What is there to siphon

When all is borne within

Her swan-like veins?

 

Does she exist in a crowd

Or must we remain apart?

She is not forever

I am not forever

But we are

*

This my submission for the prompt on Sunday but I don’t think you’ll be able to guess what it’s about  lol

15 responses to “We Are

  1. “She waits, she bates, she sees

    Demons in the Rorschach

    I propagate the seeds of hate

    Because love alone is hysterical”

    It never ceases to amaze me how you weave words into tapestries so subtly brilliant – with incredible depth. And this is but one part of a verse of so many incredible images here. Truly moving and intriguing.

  2. Since my own is about a relationship… that is the first thing that came to my mind. Perhaps about a Sister sister? Old habits are hard to break… (pardon the pun -) but you tossed in the line about clover in bibles 🙂

Leave a Reply

