Photo Challenge #25 “The Other Woman”

Sisters 25

Tom Bagshaw

A different woman and still I am no closer to orthodox fruition. Never do I escape the sense of otherness, the sense that the world as I have conceived it might be barring my admission from a more relevant passage. Each woman is different and yet they bare the same trappings. One would juxtapose innocence with perversion, the other austerity. Yet for all their diversions they wish for the same outcome. A scoundrel or a saint? They offer different denominations but in the end I would be a husband same as any other.

I will not marry either of them for beauty is a poor substitute for sentiment and I have never loved (excluding piety). Perhaps the existence of love is but a compensatory farce, an illusion to stay the bestial instincts? If perchance it does exist and if I should have the fortune to find it then I will not be aggrieved by the delay. Let society condemn me a bachelor but a liar I am not.

*

I have always wanted to write a novel something along the lines of Dostoevsky’s Notes from the Underground but that is just wishful thinking haha. Also I think I took a rather odd approach to the prompt.

25 responses to “Photo Challenge #25 “The Other Woman”

  1. some
    zombies
    look
    surprisingly
    lifelike

    at
    least
    in
    the
    beginning

    unless
    you
    take
    skin
    color
    into
    consideration

    but
    no
    matter
    how
    good
    they
    may
    look

    you
    will
    still
    have
    a
    corpse
    on
    your
    hands

    and
    keep
    in
    mind
    that
    zombies
    are
    truly
    terrible
    dinner
    dates

    they
    also
    avoid
    showers
    at
    all
    costs

    then
    there’s
    the
    whole
    aging
    thing

    they
    are
    dreadful
    conversationalists
    and
    they
    don’t
    really
    sleep

    so
    if
    I
    were
    you

    I’d
    think
    twice
    before
    getting
    involved
    with
    one
    of
    the
    women
    pictured
    above

    it’s
    up
    to
    you
    of
    coure
    just
    don’t
    say
    you
    weren’t
    warned

  2. It sounded really good, and interesting to boot.
    I think you should try to write that novel. Even if it’s small bits here and there you post on your blog. A snip-it here and there may be enough further down the road to write into a full length novel!
    Don’t be afraid to try. We’re all here to support anything you’d like to attempt!

  3. I actually think your response to the prompt is wonderful – very much in the Dostoevsky spirit.

    But with your own voice – which makes it all the more interesting. By all means, try and you will succeed – just remember the world already had one Dostoevsky – they are waiting for you. 🙂

    • Thanks Laurie but the truth is I am not very good with stories I think if I wrote a novel it wouldn’t make sense and it would bore everyone to tears except me because obviously I’d be writing about something I found interesting lol I have written stories with people and that helps reign me in a little and they usually address all the concrete stuff my brain naturally omits as I tend toward abstraction. It also helps me keep the dialogue more natural (most of my conversations take place with myself so I’ve no idea what people talk about ordinarily)

  4. Narrative can take many forms! A novel doesn’t necessarily need to be all in prose (tho you have the voice to do it); you could slip into the poetry you write so well and with so much conviction.
    Can I get a signed copy?

Leave a Reply

