Wordle #25 Courtesan

Week 25

Your smile aches
As if it were a source of friction
Worn raw with each extraction
A kiss could prove infectious.
I am neither the first nor the last
Perhaps I even spare you
The stillness of memory
But you hold me as if
We were destined to be

Your lipstick is
As carefully applied as lingerie
Anemic flesh brandished red
I wonder if the shade
Enunciates your sex
And if in another light
I might recognize the shadows
Gathering as bats in the meniscus
Of each skeletal well?

Your thighs palpitant
As neon signs
Fold over my ribs
And it’s ironic
That there’s no love between us
Because at times like these
We really ought
To take care of one another

Your soul is cleft and cloven
Like a peach and against my tongue
The exposed half deliquesces
So many tears but none are
Exchanged between us.

Has anyone ever spoken to you
Without scrutinizing the angle
Of your necessity?
And who are we to judge
When we sell ourselves
To whatever machine lies between
This door and the next?
Courtesans of another sort
But courtesans nonetheless

14 responses to “Wordle #25 Courtesan

  1. Perhaps I even spare you
    The stillness of memory
    But you hold me as if
    We were destined to be

    This is classic, Yves! You left it hanging as a great poem should be. One can then have the luxury of guessing various eventualities! Great!

    Hank

  2. ” Has anyone ever spoken to you
    Without scrutinizing the angle
    Of your necessity?”

    This is but ONE of the many stanzas that have me absolutely enthralled – just completely taken in – in grand style of ultimate seduction.

    Such a powerfully written poem – filled with imagery that could only bewitch and ensnare all of the senses.

    Well done – and consider yourself accomplished – this falls into my “inspired” series of bookmarks where I revisit and review and sit and muse on inspirations that move me beyond words. Actually, you are accomplished whether this resides in my special folder – so generally – bravo and I throw a dozen – actually 13 roses at your feet.

  3. My heavens this is captivating … really wonderfully written. I agree with Pat this was truely inspired and will bookmark to read and re-read. Chapeau!

Leave a Reply

