For the Love of Words

Jonathan Wolstenholme 1950 - British Surrealist painter - Tutt'Art@

Johnathan Wolstenholme

Today I wrote a manual for conducting a proper house inspection but I didn’t think you’d want to read that! The house inspection is set for Monday at 10 o’clock I am hoping the homeowners won’t change their minds! So I wrote an alphabetical list of some of my favorite words. I limited it to 5 words per letter but for some letters I had a very very hard time to pick just the 5, for others 5 was MORE than enough. I also included some baby names I like. Feel free to try this and share your results XD

A

Absinthian (bitter)

Alkaline

Anathema (curse)

Anthracite (coal)

Anodyne (painkiller)

B

Brontide (a rumbling noise)

Bramble

Bloodless

Basilisk (serpent, lizard, dragon freezes with a stare)

Bereft

C

Chrysalis (cocoon)

Constellations

Cellar

Carnival

Cipher

D

Delirium

Deliquesce (melt)

Diaphanous (see through)

Dormancy

Dystopia

E (hard to limit on E)

Evanescent (vanishing)

Elysian (heavenly)

Eidolon (delusion, ghost)

Erinyes (The Fates)

Entropy

F

Fossilize

Fracture

Feather

Fatality

Filter

G

Gaunt

Graphite

Glacier

Gather

Ghosting

H

Halcyon (peaceful)

Hyacinth

Hollow

Horizon

Helter Skelter

I

Innocuous

Impassive

Indelible

Insidious

Insomnia

J

Jaundice

Juxtaposition (adjacency)

Jester

Juniper

Jaded

K (this one was tough!)

Kite

Kaleidoscope

Kilter

Kestrel

Key

L

Laconic (quiet)

Lacustrine (of or pertaining to a lake)

Lucidity

Labyrinthine

Luminary

M

Melancholia

Machiavellian (scheming)

Misanthropic

Mercurial (temperamental)

Monolith

N

Nascent (beginning to exist)

Nomadic

Numinous (spiritual)

Nocturne

Neurasthenia (breakdown)

O

Obdurate

Ossuary (a place for the bones of the dead)

Oddity

Odyssey

Occlusion

P

Pariah (a social outcast)

Petrichor (the smell of the earth after rain)

Percussive

Precipice

Primordial

Q

Quixotic (idealistic)

Querulous

Quiet

Quicksilver

Quarry

R

Razorvine

Resonance

Requiem

Resin

Residual

S (hard to limit on S)

Sibylline (mysterious, cryptic)

Starless

Silhouette

Synthesis

Scythe

T

Tentative

Taciturn (uncommunicative)

Telluric (earthy)

Transparency

Tether

U

Unkempt

Unmade

Undulate

Underground

Unorthodox

V

Virago (shrew)

Vicious

Vitriolic (scathing)

Vestigial (latent)

Virulent

W

Wisteria

Watercourse

Waif

Weary

Wept

X (X was hard)

Xenolith (a rock fragment foreign to the igneous rock in which it is embedded)

Xanthous (yellowish color)

Xenophobic (fear of foreigners)

Xylophone

Xerus (an African ground squirrel)

Y (Y was hard!)

Yield

Yearning

Yesterday

Yawn

Yarrow

Z

Zetsubou (despair in Japanese)

Zenith

Zephyr

Zealous

Zero

 

Then randomly some baby names (I am not with child)

Male

Aureilian , Alexei, Cyr, Eli, Ira, Kaien, Kite, Key, Lane, Morrow, Nikolai, Seth, Shion, Soul, Thierry, Thoreau, Zero

Female

Amarysse (Am-ah-reece), Chie, Deionarra (De-ah-narra), Eleanor, Ellesime (El-suh-may), Hana, Isadora, Muse, Sev’Tai (I love this name and I don’t care who knows it lol), Stella, Thyme, Qorren, Yves

14 responses to “For the Love of Words

  1. Wow!
    I love words (see my about page, when I was a child learning ro read I remember I had decided to count each new word I was able to write, I was just fascinated…) your poetical dictionary is amazing and touches me a lot. Your title is beautiful!’for the love of words…
    requiem
    resonance
    feather
    carnival
    constellations (i love it!!!)
    xylophone…
    you’ve made my day 🙂
    THANK YOU

  2. As a kleptomaniac of phonetically beautiful words I have thefted (ha, a coining!) your collection to merge with my existing hoard. Don’t be surprised if you find some of them waving out of my work at you.

    • Anodyne is such a beautiful word it is hard to resist giving it to a child lol From my list I have some crazy things I ended up naming my daughter Isadora which she likes right now (she might kill me later but I think if I show her what might have been she’ll be relieved lol) Her middle name is Grey I thought she’d drop the last name when she became famous and just be Isadora Grey which I thought was lovely (why she wanted to be famous when I named her I have absolutely no idea it just made sense at the time). She might also have been Nova, Kimaxsi, or Mai Ellesime. My mom was so relieved we chose Isadora (though she did try in earnest to pronounce the other candidates), I could never come up with middle names for Nova or Kimaxsi. Isadora popped into my head and it seemed obvious to me like it was her name already or something and it fit the criteria for being easy to pronounce in both languages and easy to spell, it was also unique without being out there (and trust me I wanted to go out there haha really Sev’Tai is one of my favorite names). Swedish citizens can change their name once for free if worse comes to worst lol Unfortunately here you can’t chose any name for your kid there is a registry or something with a list of acceptable names, so Sev’Tai wouldn’t fly =( She could change it to Sev’Tai as an adult (I don’t foresee that) but they won’t let you go wild on baby names. Isadora was born in he USA though so I could have went crazy but I didn’t. The kids can say her name and they all like it and there are no kids in her class with that name so I think it worked.

Leave a Reply

