Wordle #22 Falsetto

Wordle22

Your tears are like linoleum
Slick in their sepia-tinted falsetto
If only I were a decoy,
A legion of deaf geese incredulous
To your baroque gestures
And posthumous afflictions
If only I were a dormancy
A plaster of ice and nude limbs
Like winter or radiation
You are meaningless
Beyond ostensible margins
I carve your heart lines
Into my wrists but death
Remains one step ahead
And I want you back

13 responses to “Wordle #22 Falsetto

  1. “I carve your heart lines
    Into my wrists but death
    Remains one step ahead
    And I want you back”

    For me, these lines hold a sense of desperation in the face of inevitability that I can very much relate to. Beautifully and achingly put.

  2. dang…nice emotive close…
    its the inclusion of the unusual that i like best…
    elements like linoleum…deaf geese…and plaster
    make this all the more to me.

  3. “I carve your heart lines
    Into my wrists but death
    Remains one step ahead”
    So emotional. An intriguing way you wove the wordle words into the poem. I found myself holding my breath as each line resonated in my mind.

Leave a Reply

