The Divine Actor

I was out all day at the Autumn Festival yesterday

mindlovemisery

Ken-WongArt By: Ken Wong

An ambiguous heart

Is easy to misplace

Still my odyssey shelters

No reprieve

Born to the wind

My only consolation

Is verse

*

I find myself somersaulting

Between this world

And the nether

Impoverished but for ink

*

My snakeskin notebook

Sheds culpability

Through the exaltation

Of an anathematic muse

“It’s no longer enough

For me to be one man”

I must know all men

As I know myself

And on exhausting one life

I must be ready

To assume another

That is what it means

To be a genius

To step into the maw

Of a predatory madness

And find amongst horror

The courage to speak clearly

That which is unthinkable

*

This poem was influenced by Rimbaud’s theory on writing. A theory that I, as teenager and young adult, embraced. To a lesser extent of course, as I am generally well-behaved. The quote is…

View original post 1 more word

5 responses to “The Divine Actor

Leave a Reply

