Wordle #20 “Let It Be”

Wordle19

I carry within me a dearth
Pockets full of willful yearnings
Strings as red as dying embers
Pennies the color of jilted love
I could barter but potential
Cannot be exchanged
And who would want
What I alone cannot give?

Ink spills over crippled sheets
Like fleas, like the mutterings
Of a starless vault
I am blind but who above me
Would ever take these hands
Which cannot be cleansed
Their undertakings?
Inertia rusts more readily
Than steel and I have stood
Here weeping longer than
Any man has ever lived

The scent of petrichor
Sours on my breath,
I have swallowed
My share of storms
The tears that dwell the longest
Scathe when unleashed
The cinders on my cheeks
Might be an omen
Of sleepless nights
Still to come

I am a monster but only
In relation to my failings
If I could be anything
That would be enough
But my walls grow higher
With every detour
And my heart is a little
Tighter than it was before

Restraint is a game
That leads to excesses
Of a crueler sort
And I am only human.
If I leave you anything at all
Let it be laughter
*
I know what your thinking another BBQ woman stay out of the forests. I found myself short on time again I am afraid so I ended up with more chicken scratch. I have to go to the school today and try to register myself for Swedish classes, social phobia is a real mood lifter at times like these (sarcasm)

12 responses to “Wordle #20 “Let It Be”

  1. I’ve always been an introvert, but my son suffers from terrible social phobia. It’s a burden I wish I could lift from him.

  2. it is the details within this that really bring it alive…great descriptors throughout…i would say keep scratching, because this is good..and some zingers of lines…the i am a monster line is one that jumped out at me…hope all goes well getting registered

  3. If I leave you anything at all
    Let it be laughter

    Great ending! This is what one aspires for and what one expects. Fun and laughter beat everything else. Wonderful write mlm!

    Hank

Leave a Reply

