Wordle #19 “Perish”

Wordle18

Reciprocation is an art
And I haven’t the presence
To proselytize favor.
I have always assumed myself
Insignificant though it is love
That I crave above everything
Even my own life which
Is perishable in comparison

I wanted to live in you
An unbroken vitellus,
A dandelion crown,
A clinging placenta
Possessing the scars
That you, in isolation,
Should not bare them
We were imperfect,
As only lovers
Can be

For my heart alone I hoped
That you would remain
Of this sky, dulcet and chiffon
Those halcyon days
When your cobalt eyes
Aligned to the curvature
Of my smile and held
Accordingly

The asphalt stretches
Beneath your sullied shadow
Bereft of weeds
My fingertips recall
The length of your bones
A fence surrounding all
That was so precious within

Was it the sleuth in me
Or the traitor in you
That abolished our union?
I could forgive anything
If I stood next to you
We were perfect, if only

12 responses to “Wordle #19 “Perish”

  1. Wow! This no doubt is a stunning read. I specially like to point out the parts where I liked your imaginative power and use of words –
    1. To proselytize favor
    2. Each and every line of second paragraph.
    3. “When you cobalt eyes aligned to the curvature of my smile.” and the best of the best “The asphalt stretches beneath your sullied shadow.”
    “My fingertips recall the length of your bones a fence surrounding all that was so precious within” is equally brilliant.
    Wonderful read of the day. Thank you for this one.

  2. whew what a last line…if only…
    i can relate to the opening stanza…
    the need of the give and take of relationship
    and wondering too shat comes between…
    and the longing for it to return…

  3. There are lots going in many situations that are emotionally charged! But realities cause lots of distractions. You’ve presented a wonderful take on what can happen! Great write mlm!

    Hank

Leave a Reply

