Mortar and Pestilence

hiding-photodream-art

Photodream Art

Visit the artist here

I mortar that I shall become

In the derangement of routine

As ineffable as stone.

In relation to the mundane

Gravity encroaches upon me

With a ferocity that an apple

Spoiled or otherwise

Cannot replicate

 

Do any of us understand truly

The relevance of being sentient

The eggshell hieroglyphics

Of the behemoth before

It has sheltered blood?

Can anyone doubt

The elasticity of the womb

Which accommodates so readily

The fine-boned lotus?

 

I want to nurse something beyond

My premonitory wounds,

A porcine muse that feasts

On my ever thickening chrysalis

The question of reciprocity

Is not often a generous one

To depend solely on reassurance

To fashion of it a requisite will

Is to condemn oneself to poverty

 

So long as words exist

I shall exchange them

To the infirm they are coins of passage

A sapling merely I begin and end

As an Ouroboros, composure being

A game of scalpels and frailties

I manufacture sanity through savagery

And if I am lucky that passes for life

*

Lately I have been feeling quite stuck and quite self-conscious/tongue-tied so I decided to just write and not worry about making sense to see if I could unstick myself haha. On another note I am dog-sitting a 13 year old Swedish Elkhund, she is very sweet and calm but my schedule is at the moment a bit off. Right now I seem to be interrupting her cuddle time 😛

 

28 responses to “Mortar and Pestilence

  1. his heart had turned to stone
    once that happened
    the rest of him
    quickly followed
    he had lost touch with Nature
    and failed to see his place within it
    a beautiful and friendly bird stopped by
    curious to know why so many statues
    were showing up everyday

  2. I hope you don’t mind that I write these things on your post. I just love your stuff and the pictures trigger an immediate reaction so I just write down what I’m thinking so I don’t forget. If I am bothering you, please just let me know. I won’t be at all offended. 🙂 Thank you.

    • Not at all I love seeing people inspired hence hosting a prompt on my own blog I since moved it to another blog but only because I wanted to offer more challenges and get a few more writers on board. I am happy if anything you see or read on my blog makes you want to write XD

  3. Lovely poem Yves, I like the idea of what we consider passes for life, we all have a different perspective and I like your take in this one. Excellent photo to work from too.

  4. Yves, you tongue tied? Never…even in your driest moments, you surpass the mundane in writing anytime! I enjoyed this and especially like ”

    So long as words exist

    I shall exchange them

    To the infirm they are coins of passage” Oliana xx

  5. “So long as words exist/I shall exchange them/To the infirm they are coins of passage”
    This really struck me. They interpret into my life so well. Thanks for expressing this for me (even if the meaning is different for the poet).
    And happy dog sitting.

  6. I liked this very much, especially the last part and especially this:”I manufacture sanity through savagery

    And if I am lucky that passes for life”

  7. Lovely poem and it’s an honor you’ve used my art to inspire this poem !
    But…it would have been nice if you had asked my permission to use my image or atleast linked back to my website.

    kind wishes ~Jacky
    PhotoDream Art

Leave a Reply

