Until

462041

Elle Moss

Teeth and cuticles cracked

I clutch my journal

As if a delivery notice

Free me this state of being

These imperfect nooses

That subdue without collapse

 

At what point does the graphite

Fade from venal sapphire to necrotic ash?

I am only audible when I write

Otherwise the heart in my mouth

Serves a distinctive gag.

Lips hugging pillars of ivory

A mute martyred tongue defaming

I don’t have enough saliva

To exonerate my shame

 

There is blood beneath my nails

From tasting too much of your flesh

Anger is a luxury not afforded in exile

The brass latch is soft and intractable

Face down in a pile of newspaper clippings

I applaud only my anonymity

There is freedom in “no one”

That “some one” cannot gather

An audience changes everything

Even gestation

 

Opportunity is not bred in isolation

A handful of pomegranate seeds

Will assure safe passage

If I seek oneness in matrimony

How long death!

Death accepts me as no other

Whether rich or poor

Whether beautiful or curious

He shall wait a lifetime

To embrace my strangeness

For I will not surrender until

*

Yesterday I had writer’s block and I felt today would be the same because I feel exactly the same as I did yesterday physically, mentally in every conceivable way but I was able to create something longer and more sensible and it just happened to be relevant to prompt

27 responses to “Until

  1. I am only audible when I write

    Otherwise the heart in my mouth

    Serves a distinctive gag.

    Lovely lines, Yves! I felt that lump in your throat feeling when I read your poem.

  2. smiles. i am rather a fan of pomegranite…i like that they will help you make it through…
    and that you did not let writers block shake you…the heart in mouth gag is vivid too…

  3. Free me this state of being
    These imperfect nooses
    That subdue without collapse

    I am only audible when I write
    Otherwise the heart in my mouth
    Serves a distinctive gag.

    wondrous imagery so well described,
    you and i are mirrored this way Yves.

  4. Elle Moss is a great artist, good pick

    This was fantastic, glad I came by at 4am (just suddenly woke up)

Leave a Reply

