Photo Prompt #2 “Mollusk” Peristalsis (Audio)

don__t_worry_by_sheerheart-d3fp0ty

Tomoki Hayasaka

Each person has a heart line

A palm-woven guide given

To sincere acts of self-expression

My line is composed of barbed wire

With every confession my scars

Sink deeper, scars being the residual

Of lips that no longer elongate or ascend

*

My heart line is defective

Not because I cannot love

My composition is eternal

Not because I lack passion

Though mine burns

For very little besides poetry

But because I cannot find

Within myself that spark of genius

I am then again perhaps I am not

A writer but what of endowment?

What of the mollusk that tends

My garden divesting each muse

As if a wholesome cabbage?

What of my carapace

Which prohibits any reality

Counter to the spineless sliver

That constitutes my own?

What of my wall-crawling heart

Weeping and sluggish in exile?

I am afraid that I will not last long

That I will accomplish little if at all

*

Your exposed pupils scream

Too low for the human ear to detect

Your hysterical slopping brows

Taking detour after detour

We do not meet face to face

Or soul to soul but hip to hip

There is no question of desire

No question of existence or love

When we are primitively employed

*

There are too many questions

Too many hypotheses

Both judicious and presumptive

I can no longer feign human

My gait forbids acceleration

Steps are impossible

I move through peristalsis

*

Audio

http://vocaroo.com/i/s14JBO9IGWzA

 

26 responses to “Photo Prompt #2 “Mollusk” Peristalsis (Audio)

  1. we are often our harshes critics…and we can not see the heart in the verse that others see so clearly….like the life line being barb wire and how the scars sink in….those scars talk as well…

  2. Magnificently written and beautifully read piece on the love and doubts of the poet and human challenges. The language is exquisite and the expression is poetically divine…the heart-line as a palm-woven guide; divesting muses; weeping and sluggish; moving by peristalsis. Inspired work.

Leave a Reply

