Birthday (Audio)

Happy_birthday_to_you_by_complejoCredit: Complejo of DeviantArt

What do I want?

As a child the blanks were easy to fill

There was always some toy, some article

Some vacuous need easily sated

A want was such a simple thing

I think I’ll have a beach ball

A set of pastels, a guitar to recount

The erosion of my innocence

*

I never received anything on my list

You understood my penchant

For poisons all too well mother

Understood that what is truly important

Is not the thought but the perversion

If I get her something

She’s not thought to mention

She will feel all the more relieved

That daughter of mine is so forgetful

Heaven help the poor girl

She cannot possibly know

The persuasions of her heart

That heart which is still so new

Why she’s probably written down

The first thing that’s popped into her head!

*

I resent that question

What do you want?

It’s not about me, this birthday

I’ve no right to celebrate in peace

I must make a spectacle of myself

For the benefit of others

For those younger than myself

Who still look forward

To the freedom of infirmity

*

People take such pleasure

In unnerving one another

If you succumbed to my requests

I wouldn’t be sufficiently surprised

You should have seen her face

When I handed her that pig’s heart!

The squeal of terror delight

Look how she turns it over and over

Her mute, bloody hands tremulous

(of what use it is I cannot imagine)

It’s no approximation dear one

That is a genuine pig’s heart

Strait from the butcher

So fresh it still echoes

With the hysteria of departure!

*

I have written you a note too

Right there beside the quip

About unwanted hair growth

And accelerated weight gain

(looks like you’re right on target!)

A card just wouldn’t be the same

If you didn’t sacrifice a few tears

*

Birthdays are for sadists

I’d rather spend the day selfishly

Eating gratuitous amounts of sweets

Making love, watching television

Perhaps dinner in the evening

Home-cooked and uninterrupted

By cued, overworked waiters

And their synthetic confections

Uninterrupted by song or applause

Just a simple dinner eaten

Without any concern

Whatsoever for my health

*

This is meant to be sarcastic so I hope you won’t take it seriously. I am making fun of how we like to scare people and make them cry on their birthdays. Personally I like birthdays and still get excited though I prefer to keep them very simple. My actual birthday is November 8th

This is for Poet’s United

Audio can be found here I tried to put a little drama in it but I am not an actress haha

http://vocaroo.com/i/s0p745SXGfxG

33 responses to “Birthday (Audio)

  1. Well I am glad it is not your actual birthday. I liked this and I think it is one of the most interesting pieces I have read/listened to Yves. I well connect with a lot of what you say about birthdays as I was telling a friend similar things only today. Excellent piece, enjoyed both the reading and the telling.

  2. Ah, you are a Scorpio like me then, that explains a lot about the depth and darkness of your writing my friend! Fabulous dark satire of a poem here too!! πŸ™‚

  3. Incredible – I am a Scorpio, as well. LOLOL Evil sex maniacs….I think I need to pay more attention to what the horoscopes are saying about me. I loved how you would like to spend your day…it sounds lovely. Eating with no guilt…always appealing for a day. πŸ™‚

  4. Nicely written my friend, though I would not have offered an explanation at the footer, being that the reader would be left to consider whether the piece was authentic or just an imaginary tale of wickedness. I do like this one though and please note that I do not add this comment as a criticism, just a thought.

    Have a wondrously enjoyable Friday and weekend πŸ™‚

    Andro

      • Anyone worth your readership should take your work and enjoy it, as is without any need of explanations.

        In my humble opinion, I say just write whatever you wish and let your readership follow, if they like it then they do not need a guided tour of your intellect.

        Sorry if I appear blunt but a writer should be able to add whatever she or he chooses without worrying of what others may think about it, after all creativity and expression of thought is what we all enjoy and yours is really nice my friend.

        Keep up the good work πŸ™‚

        Andro

  5. A mere Cancer here (unfortunate word), crawling through the realm of Scorpios! “penchant for poisons”? “Heaven help the poor girl / She cannot possibly know / The persuasions of her heart / That heart which is still so new.” Poor Mom, with her hands in pig heart blood, just will not make this connection or understand the sacrifice r truly ever ask “What is it you want.”

  6. “I resent that question

    What do you want?

    It’s not about me, this birthday

    I’ve no right to celebrate in peace

    I must make a spectacle of myself

    For the benefit of others

    For those younger than myself

    Who still look forward

    To the freedom of infirmity” – loved it!
    Next to my son and grandma, I think you are the worlds first Scorpio that I both love and adore πŸ˜€

  7. Shhh! Don’t tell Gray but I am one of the ones who is glad of a footnote. I do tend to take the words as literal. And, for the life of me, I don’t know why. Because I write all sorts of stuff in poetry that relates to, but is not necessarily, my experience. Just keep it between the two of us. But footnotes are useful at times. It stops me worrying. Might I be too literal? And what impact might that be having on……well, just about everything? No end to the musings without clear guidance. πŸ˜‰ x

  8. Yet another Scorpio here – and what a very Scorpionic poem this is! I got the sarcasm, found the piece more and more chilling, and was glad to learn it’s not autobiographical. I’m glad to say I have not experienced people wanting to scare others and make them cry on birthdays, but I think most parents give children what they think the child needs rather than what s/he really wants – at least sometimes.

    • PS Heads-up: autocorrect has turned your “penchant” in second verse into “penitent”.

    • Sometimes that is the case but usually my mom spent more money on things I didn’t need if she had bought the items on my list she would have gotten off spending much less and could have thrown in some socks and such haha Thank you so much for pointing out the auto correct thing fixed it!

  9. a card would not be the same with out the tears…ha….i like your snark in this…ah i like simple birthdays personally….ones i can relax into…my kids at school havea hard time believing i am as old as i am…smiles…

    • I think those are the best of course I like any excuse for good food lol I think that is a good thing. I used to look extremely young for my age and I feel that my age has now caught up and then some

  10. Dear mothers hey! And birthdays..shudder..mind you I’m an old bird now and the plop of three or four cards through the door each year is a damning reminder that should you protest or retreat too far an alternative occurs! An advance happy birthday to you however

  11. Funny you should write these words. I was pondering that thought. Why do we celebrate growing older. I know it’s a badge of honor that many don’t get rewarded with. Okay I’ll stop because I’m in a funk these days and getting older doesn’t make it any easier to get out of. πŸ™‚

  12. i truly enjoyed this one. Like Scottishmama, I questioned if it was literal or not then I listened to you recite it out loud and it made more sense to me. You really seemed to be enjoying yourself reading. I do enjoy these recordings…it brings your poetry to life. My son is a scorpio and I can see this dark side but I thought it came from me and my mood swings…lol.

  13. I did because I got to be silly and well I like being silly =) Thanks so much. Mood swings yes Scorpios have those my daughter is also a Scorpio so poor Sam has two of them lol

Leave a Reply

