Rib (Audio)

Young_Magic_LP_cover_flat_800px_800

Leif Podhajsky

Some nights we hunt measuring

The weight of our paired bones

You are far heavier than I

But not nearly as hungry

*

The air does not find my pleura,

Does not find my thirsty lips willing

The blood swarms under the pressure

Of your beleaguered embrace

The poor pitiless queen

Clutching at stone fingers

Trying to pry herself free

The self-proclaimed king

Prepared to use whatever means

Necessary to illicit conquest

*

Your blurry face with its slit grin

A penitentiary of sharp teeth

Lined up side by side idle

Within their cloistered cells

Eyes as tar sticking, sticking

To the lining of my windpipe

I should be flattered

What other requirement

Could be more pressing

Than your mighty phallus?

*

Is your animus so great

That I can place my dreams upon it

My child-bearing hips

My white yielding breasts?

What of my carnivorous spirit?

And intractable intellect?

Will you tend them?

Feed them? Worship them

As I must worship yours

*

It always comes back to the rib

The one that tears now at my side

Longing to extract itself and return

To its former commission

That rib that compels me to love

And service and maddening attraction

Yes the very one that you lord over me

*

Audio

http://vocaroo.com/i/s1Fi9iNCTxiO

20 responses to “Rib (Audio)

  1. To me this was about those nights when as a couple one wants intimacy and the other is not so keen. I like the imagery Yves, stark and confronting in places.
    Did you receive my good email today?

  2. I find her feeling herself submissive… and it is sad. Emotions can’t be molded based on a Biblical tale… or on what is being taught to many, still, from childhood.
    There is an equal footing… there ever was.. but just focused out of vision by those who sought dominance.
    Powerful writing.

  3. that next to last stanza says much….what is it about me that you workship? more than what i can give you sexually…a big downfall for sure in the way that the sexes interact….

  4. “A penitentiary of sharp teeth”
    OwOOOO.
    This narrator wants out! She might even willingly choose he if not compelled and if still in the passion of first connection when learning is still possible. And I listened to it in your sweet voice. Somehow I had imagined that voice to be growly and dark, but it is light, pliant as that rib that sealed her fate. Mythic and powerful.

    • I would love to be able to write as beautifully as she does! I was listening to some of her audio recordings and someone thought I sounded like I was from New England must have been influenced by her accent.

Leave a Reply

