Fatality

c

I think I’ve charged too little for my heart

Underestimated its propensity for love

I fell into the surge of your callous pupils

Into the anemic grail of your upward facing hands

A ball of thick, governable yarn

A philosopher chasing hemlock

In order to escape fish-eyed dreams

Is devotion too much to ask?

By your calculations we must keep

A certain amount of space between

Lest our electrons declare an alternate path

You will live just as you did before

Only less out of consideration

We will inhabit smaller alcoves

Migrating in and out of the periphery

In a mating dance that promises

At least one fatality

32 responses to “Fatality

  1. My dear Yves what do you do to your men? A mating dance that ends in a fatality? Very much an occurrence in nature I know but such an anti climax, just getting to know you and ‘Oh sorry, stab, dead.’

  2. Between your gorgeous and phantasmagorical images and wise words that encircle this by an amazing, striking begining and ending, what is there left for me to say? What praise, when the poem itself is the greatest praise in the shape of a gift from you, outwards, to us.

    I really loved this part:”A philosopher chasing hemlock

    In order to escape fish-eyed dreams”

  3. see you had me from the beginning…i think we do charge too little for our hearts…and give them away far too easy…and in that find way too much heart break and loss…great last line as well….

  4. Pingback: The ultimate sexual performance… | Traces of the Soul·

  5. Well Yves,

    Where have you been all this time? And far too modest also… This is well crafted writing, with depth and power… What poet would not be happy with the following lines:

    “…A ball of thick, governable yarn

    A philosopher chasing hemlock

    In order to escape fish-eyed dreams

    Is devotion too much to ask?…”

    Great stuff! I will be back for me for more, for sure… And so glad I found you – or, rather you found me!! Do stay in touch – your work is touching and of genuine interest to me…
    With Best Wishes Scott scotthastie@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

