Prompt 47 Street Art

DSC01160

Jeff Soto

Today’s prompt is an intermission. As some of you may recall we were doing a series of 20 prompts. The series was designed to assist in story-writing. At present we only have one person writing a story but that’s okay because as I mentioned at the beginning you could treat each prompt individually just as we have always done. We have (if I counted properly) 9 prompts left in the series. At the end of the series Prompt will of course continue so no worries!

Today’s prompt is Graffiti/Street Art. Your job is to go outside and take a picture for inspiration. I don’t care if you take images of statues, city murals, children’s sidewalk drawings, graffiti, or whatever. You can stop with the image if you are an artist or photographer but if you are a writer then write what the piece makes you feel. From my post you will see I didn’t write a poem about street art in general I used the words as a prompt, so everyone’s entry will likely be very different this time.  I have your back if you couldn’t get out Isadora has taken photos for you! Yep the numbered ones are hers except the angel which I took and the saint and bunnies which Sam took. There isn’t so much interesting graffiti in my area and we were limited to a certain area since I was on foot with a 6 year old haha. I have named the photos 1-20 that way you can easily identify which photo you have used. You are free to share the photos on your blog. You are also free to modify the photo(s) in whatever way you see fit. You do not have to post the photograph with your prompt if you’ve used one of mine just specify which one somewhere in the post.

There was one image we couldn’t take at her elementary school written on one of the buildings is “Dead Angels” The text is very faded but the words really stood out to me. You are free to use this also.

Pictures found here

http://www.befunky.com/gallery/mindlovemisery/public/

Mister Linky Here

27 responses to “Prompt 47 Street Art

  1. Pingback: Prompt 47 Street Art – Shapes | Morpethroad·

  2. i absolutely love street art….we have a festival here each year….so creative…and it is amazing what they are able to accomplish….i watched them for several days creating…

  3. Hmmmm this will be a challenge because we have no graffiti or anything like that around here. However……I think I can find a mural but will have to drive some.

  4. My two favourite pieces of graffiti are: “Uniters of the of world, work.” and “Your karma ran over my dogma.”
    Around here, most of the graffiti is bad gang tagging or teen “wanna-bes,” nothing on the scale of true graffiti art.
    Camera works only for short bursts — I’ll see what I can find, snap in the batteries and hopefully snap a picture. (My camera is an energy vampire and drains them within a day, picture taking or not).
    Great idea for a prompt — and please don’t feel you have to keep up the story writing since I’m the only one approaching it that way. Prompt as you feel — don’t feel beholden.

  5. I love this prompt! I am on a little vacation but have many many photos I took of street art. What a great prompt! Some photos I`ve not had a chance to write about yet. yay!

  6. Pingback: The Family Photo | Traces of the Soul·

  7. Pingback: Protector | Cher Shares·

  8. Oh, too bad the pic of my favourite graffiti is on my pre B.C phone and no way to transfer it. It also got repainted. It was a vine with beautiful leaves and it said “Grow”. I loved that graffiti, I loved seeing it from the bus everytime I go to and back from school or city 😀

Leave a Reply

