2 Short Poems (Capacity/Terminal Velocity)

the_inner_side_of_the_outside_by_blue_a-d4xnlgk

Capacity 

My alveolate tongue has reached capacity

What remains of my heart cannot be quoted

Because it has not yet been understood

Terminal Velocity 

Fear has cast all logic astray

I sit thread-less with sewn fingers

Contemplating my terminal in life

Will I take the black train

With the single illumined window?

Or will I take the red one

Screeching to a vainglorious halt?

*

When I was in high school I had a dream. The dream began brilliantly I was soaring through the clouds free and unencumbered. I saw a flashing light and found myself unable to focus on anything else. I fell from the sky faster and faster. I noticed beneath me was a train station or rather a single platform in the middle of a landscape that did not exist. The scene was black and white (well mostly grey) except a single yellow window in a speeding black train. The light drew me and I kept moving toward that flash and then I woke up suddenly outside my body. When I reentered my body I had a very violent fit. It felt like that lit window was death but even though I struggled vehemently against it the whole time I was dreaming I was being summoned toward it at a horrifying speed. So the black train in the poem is reference to the dream. I have probably told you this dream before somewhere but maybe not everyone has read it. I feel I am not the only one who has had this dream.

20 responses to “2 Short Poems (Capacity/Terminal Velocity)

    • I do have so pretty cool dreams I had an interesting last night. I can’t remember much but I remember I was looking for an underground tunnel and I said to myself in the dream “You won’t find the tunnel here…it exists in another dream…” haha

  1. Your dreams are powerful and I have never dreamt of what you have. I sit thread-less with sewn fingers – scrumptious!

  2. ha. the not being able to quote because it is not understood…its clever but also speaks to someone not taking the time to understand as well…jenny nailed the line in the second one that jumped out at me….

  3. Hey Yves! That is a lovely interpretation of your dream, both beautiful and horrifying. I love “Capacity”. It is a good example of how short poems can say so much.

  4. Very interesting about your dream! I’ve read astral travel is common during sleep, but if I do it, I’ve never been aware 😉 Very interesting the connection between being out of body and the physical reaction to coming back. Perhaps there’s some sort of clue there.

    I think the reason I’m connecting with art now even though I’ve always been a words person is what you mention in your first poem. I think art allows you to access that part of yourself that you haven’t articulated yet, even to yourself. And then, for me, the words can come.

    • I agree with you completely about art Heather. Though I am not a very good painter I sometimes will paint in color as a way of getting my feelings out when I have no words to relieve them.

      I think that was the most distinct example I have of feeling like I’d truly left my body

Leave a Reply

