Return to Sender

1Elle Muliarchyk

Were I persuasive I’d roll you between

My thumb and forefinger until pliable

But you exhaust now my ingenuity.

I am too distracted to seduce

But you will not yield without courtship,

My heart is not such that I can reach in

Whenever I please and extract wholly

You’ve taken so much from me already

If I did not love you would I remain

Poised for your triumphant return?

17 responses to “Return to Sender

  1. That’s the thing with poetry Yves, we write with one meaning, perhaps hidden yet everyone tends to look at it from a different angle. This is good as it makes the reader have a good think.

Leave a Reply

