Crux

8289038209_e2343a19fe_zMy bones are beautiful where they rest

In the crux of your loving disposition

*

There is wonder in romance,

In the capacity of a soul

That had seemed too savage

For reprieve

*

Poetry is composed

As a human heart

Wild but reticent

I divide continents

And constituents

Into chambers for both

Conquest and exaltation

*

There’s nothing as decadent as introspection

The dimensions I’ve seen overtake the stars

In both eradicative and incendiary capacity

*

This is a hint for the prompt

36 responses to “Crux

  1. My wife hates when I use the word crux. I don’t know why. It is as good a word as any, and it fits so nicely into your poem. Personally, I love the word crux and I love this poem. Great work!

  2. I divide continents

    And constituents

    Into chambers for both

    Conquest and exaltation

    is a cool bit…i need to think about…i havent slept yet so i am saving it to a doc to ponder in the morning…ha….

    the decadence of introspection was a cool bit as well…

  3. Gorgeously powerfull. Loved this part especially:”Poetry is composed

    As a human heart

    Wild but reticent

    I divide continents

    And constituents

    Into chambers for both

    Conquest and exaltation”

  4. Hmmm….decadent introspection. Interesting idea. Am I warm? Do you take prompt requests? I just wrote a passionate poem on failure and I think that would be an interesting prompt. If you take requests I will hold it off until you post the prompt. Let me know.

  5. sometimes as I have mentioned before – read and re-read what you write – sometimes my own failing I cannot grasp needing the Thesaurus at hand ๐Ÿ˜‰ but this I absorbed and read twice – purely for the beauty in your words. x

Leave a Reply

