Gelid

ximena-garnica-c-piotr-redlic584ski-6Recumbent veins trace

The migration of ink

Over snow-laden planes

Gelid fingers falter

Unable to ignite

The hearth within

*

Lately I haven’t felt like writing poetry. I know what is this blasphemy!? Truth is even I have days where all I really want to do is watch bad television and eat cookies. Maybe because I am sick but I just can’t seem to find my mojo at the moment.

41 responses to “Gelid

  1. No worries, I go long periods without writing too. Just consider yourself on a leave of absence until your mojo shows 😉

  2. I have just passed that phase, I have reached a point of there must be something else to write about apart from hate, depression, love, relationships… your mojo will return as mine did, but everyone else is right, let it come of its own accord, forcing won’t make it you or real. Hope you’re ok sweet. xx

    • Thank you so much Jenny I have a goal to write daily regardless of how I feel. Even if what I write isn’t any good. I used to get easily discouraged and I would give up sometimes for years at a time even if I loved something because of those insecurities. So now I write through it all, sometimes I produce really good work in moments where it seems impossible, sometimes I don’t but I feel better for having made the effort to push through my fear.

  3. I so can relate to lost writing mojo right now. It’s the after holiday slump, the descent into true winter. A couple of days ago, I read that January 6th (or the first work day after the holidays) is the most depressing day of the year. All we can do is ride it out.

    • The descent into winter scares me. This winter has been ultra mild so far (here not everywhere) but the ones before were devastatingly long and depressing so I have my fingers crossed that we get a break this year. I am certainly in the slump. Here’s to hoping are moods and mojos pick up!

  4. I love it when you say “no mojo”, “writer’s block” etc, after you already present something gorgeous! 😀
    But I can relate to this, somehow it is like the season beckons a rest.

  5. our writing waxes and wains…it cycles…so i feel you…good job writing anyway…that is my philosophy because you may take just a word of it and turn it into something greater later….

  6. Oh, Yves…I have missed so much of your work. Somehow, (I blame my awful iPhone), I was not following you anymore!!! I apologize. Now, back from vacation and pretty settled in, I will be catching up with you. I hope you are feeling better. You and hubby are in my prayers each day. Big hugs!!!

      • It is so upsetting!! That is why I asked the other day if you were still writing when we spoke on Twitter!! I do not want to rush through them; I like to ponder each. So, I will look at it as glass-half full…..now I have much to slowly ponder as I catch up. Thanks for being so understanding!

      • I have had my own malfunctions online that have resulted in missed posts and communications I understand how frustrating it is. It is an honor that you visit my blog =)

  7. I understand as I go through a writing block myself. I just don’t watch bad television but somehow manage to let days pass with no important tasks to accomplish. The question is can you be okay without creating such beautiful poems, because sometimes writing is food for the soul (and less calories than cookies) 🙂

    • I will still write daily as it is the objective I have set for myself sometimes it will be difficult and I will not be satisfied by the results but the challenge for me is important

  8. I do hope you feel more energised soon x it can be hard when we are physically and mentally depleted x but it will pass x I found walking at night when the streets are quiet helped me when I was all worn out x thinking of you x

  9. Wonderful poem, a always, but I’m with you on the wish to watch bad television and eat cookies (or in my case it would be eat chocolate, but the overall sentiment is the same!!) 🙂 🙂

  10. This is a beautiful piece Yves. I too have lost my mojo but I am tending to think deeper about what I want to write. Think of it as a new start in your work for a new year. Cookies and milk are good. A pause in writing helps us to filter out the dross and seek the glowing words we know will work for us. Go on, dunk another cookie. 🙂

Leave a Reply

