Tragedy

girl

I swallow the lightning

Of an alien skyline

The hiss

Of unaffiliated tongues

Colliding

The confetti tears

That smite on admission

I do not want to become

A tragedy unto myself

A shy suicide detonating

Under the gaze

Of an adroit firebrand

My identity is too fragile

To decipher

Without assimilation

*

Today has been very stressful. Sam has been seriously ill for the last 2 days. Turns out he was allergic to the Christmas tree. Isadora is absolutely devastated about the tree now that we’ve taken it out (were going to give it away). We plan to get a plastic one tomorrow but it doesn’t comfort her much in the meantime. I haven’t had more than 5 minutes of quiet time today, I actually wrote this on a crowded tram on the way to the mall to do some Christmas shopping so forgive me if its gibberish.

46 responses to “Tragedy

  1. No gibberish from this part of the world Yves, well done. Hope your Sam is better soon, and a plastic Christmas tree lasts but is not the same as a real one. However it will become an important part of your Christmas I am sure. Santa still leaves gifts under plastic trees. He does at my house at any rate.

      • funny how all this happens isn’t it. allergies to various things. I hope Santa leaves mum something good too.
        I had to do anaphylaxis training today, a yearly requirement for teachers here.

      • I am intolerant to gluten which is challenging given that wheat is in everything it seems. Awww thank you =) I think it is a good thing you guys have such training allergies can be lethal. Luckily mine isn’t lethal. I get sick, I have seizures. I ate a piece of candy with wheat not long ago (accidentally) and my pupils haven’t been right since. I look like I am on mushrooms lol

  2. Not gibberish at all, a really good poem in fact. Pat yourself on the back for getting it written with all the stress you are having!!! Kudos !!!

  3. Wonderful poem as always but…my god…allergic to a Christmas tree…there is something deeply ironic in that, though I by no means wish to de-value the true discomfort and unease that would bring. Hope he feels better soon/already!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  4. If this is gibberish – I want the ability to have it. Sorry about Sam, yes some kids are allergic to pine and you just have to tell Isadora (so LOVE that name btw) that a plastic one is just as pretty πŸ™‚ Lovely write – as usual xx

  5. Gibberish? yeah right, more like Yet another masterpiece πŸ˜€
    I hope your hubby gets better soon and I am sure Isa will love the plastic tree. We always had that one because my parents taught the real one is wrong to cut and use for decoration and that it makes too much of a mess to clean up.

    • I have had mostly had plastic trees myself and I do have reservations about cutting real trees. Isadora was very excited about having a real tree but I think once we start decorating the new one and it is up she will be happy.

      • Precisley, the decorating is what really excites the kids, at least that is how I remember it. I know my dad was very sad too, when I was like 15 and I didn’t wanted to decorate anymore. He still bothers me about it even tho we don’t celebrate New year and Orthodox Christmas. We just put the plastic tree up for Seth, tho he prefers if we wear the decorations, not the tree πŸ˜€ Last year he took them all and just put on himself and me πŸ˜€

      • Awww my mom and i started making our ornaments when I was in high school neither of us have skills in the craft department it looked like a kindergarten class ransacked our tree but we had fun. Sam and I still make ornaments. Well often he makes them and then Isadora and I paint them. Sometimes we do origami together. Isadora is obsessed with the tree she just stands there watching it for ages. She decorates our tree, her grandparents tree, and the tree of one of her aunts. That is so cute =)

  6. Beautiful poem. πŸ™‚ Sorry to hear about Sam, thank goodness you all found out what it was and could do something to stop it. I think plastic trees are just as pretty and actually prettier! Isadora will be happy. πŸ˜€

    • I am glad we figured it out because he is not a guy to complain, I had to convince him to go to he hospital when he had appendicitis (we didn’t know it then technically but I had a very strong hunch) so for him to even consider going to the hospital on his own I can’t even imagine. Thank you =)

  7. Oh the holiday season….it really is stressful and I think that is why my dad (which also influenced me) always preferred Thanksgiving to Christmas time. Truly Christmas can bring happiness but I see more sadness. Families not together, expectations not met, and of course the money. I always had plastic trees and enjoy them. I did do a real one for my kids and was so aggravated with it…the watering…needles….ugh. I am a slight scrooge I think. lol Even my children said never again. 😦 I did try!
    The poem was beautiful…not gibberish.

  8. ugh i am sorry….def wrecks the holiday season….i am glad though that you found the source of the illness…and can get an artificial tree…but yeah that doesnt do much in the meantime…..breathe deep….

  9. Such beautiful writing, especially given the stress you have been under. Hope your little one is better soon. I am going to try and spend some time reading your other posts I haven’t had the chance to look at. All the best, Lisa.

  10. This is definitely not gibberish, this is awesome. Sorry to hear about your Christmas Tree debacle. I hope Isadora is satisfied with the plastic version and I hope your stress has quietened. x

Leave a Reply

