Abscence

veil

I have lain with you

Underneath a ravishing vault

Nights choked with satin

Hands thirsting the salt

Of a spontaneous intimacy

*

Your whispered words

Always knew precisely

How to disperse infirmity

I could never deny you

No matter how savage

The request

*

Your love unfastened my heart

As if it were only the accoutrement

Of a more profound mystic

I will not find within another

A comparable sentiment

There is you and with you

All else remains

*

Dreams leave me restless

In ingratiating recall

Warmed but trembling

What death has stolen

Can neither be

Remodeled nor reclaimed

*

There’s no recovering

From the imposition of grief

There is only movement

Which comes now by degrees

Imperceptible sans enhancement

The night will not pass with the sun

For my eyes accede only shade

23 responses to “Abscence

  1. I liked the idea of ‘no recovery from the imposition of grief’, but rather we discover ways of dealing with it and living every day. For it can overwhelm us if we let it.

  2. Very vivid and piercing imagery and I love the power that the ending impossed on the reader and the creater together, even tho it is perhaps a weakness to be observed in the lines. The poem in a way associates me to Eternal unrest.

  3. Your pieces can be so heartbreaking but gentle. It comes across like a hand comforting someone in despair. I love it and the images you create. Wonderful.

  4. You really are brilliant. I think what I like the most about this poem is the sound/flow of it. I kept noticing all of the “s” sounds throughout. It’s beautiful aloud.

  5. Brilliant as always, it read to me like the love song of a vampire, and I mean that in the most respectful of ways – more Dracula (the original) than Twilight,for instance!! 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

