Burn

coffee_and_cigarettes_by_legshandshead-d4k5ax6

Beneath the imprints

Of your cigarette

The black rings

Of exhausted fires.

These scars of the flesh

Don’t penetrate as deep

As your betrayal

*

The noxious smell of smoke

Leaves my thoughts

Jumbled and contentious

I set my jaw

Still the tears come

Over raw, stippled cheeks

Bitter as the ashes

Of my naked trust

*

I catch your sick grin

Beneath heavy lashes

I bite off curses

My paltry voice

Shocking in rage

Defiant,

Strait though the filter

*

3 Word Wednesday

Nonfiction

40 responses to “Burn

    • Thank you very much. I agree we have to let go to heal. I choose to write about this painful events because there are others still suffering and its also cathartic

  1. “These scars of the flesh

    Don’t penetrate as deep as your betrayal” AND

    “I clench my jaw

    Still the tears come

    Over raw, stippled cheeks

    Bitter as the ashes

    Of my naked trust”

    It doesn’t need to clarify your pain when the poem says it all.

    Very nice. 🙂

  2. First off thank you for sharing what must be a diffcult experiance to express. Second sorry you had to put with that during your childhood. Thirdly the way you expressed such a powerful emotion was nothing less than insparational and done so in a way I have seen none better. Fourthly I wasnt sure what was your post for the potluck thingly so I hope this is it. Fifthly a personal thank you to you from me for you comment on my Drowning A Poet poem. I feel you fully understood what I tried to convay and for that I am deeply apperchiative, i wrote a response to it on my website if you care to check that out, Also I have subscribed to your blog and if you ever need help with, writing, poetic rivalery, or anything of the sort, I would be more than happy to lend me ear. Have a great life and good luck

    • Though it was painful its hard to wish for another life since I can’t imagine being anyone else then who I am, no matter how imperfect. I guess I’ve kind of accepted myself, at least somewhat 😛 Thank you so much =) I have a hard time with flow if you have tips for that and I have no style

      • Think of the salables per line and try to match like this, 16,12,16,12 or something so that the number of salables repeats throughout the piece that should help with flow on free verse 😛

  3. A really good poem. It’s just a shame the circumstance! It’s so hard to believe that such a cruelty is possible! And I’m thinking about the children on the eve of their day…

    • I can’t imagine doing that too a child either. I have my own daughter and its just unimaginable I hope she never goes through what I did growing up

  4. Adjectives fail to tell you how your poem touched me. I work with abused children and see these realities daily. Sharing as you have done is so generous of you and will help bring attention to the plight of thousands of children. I keep you in Light and Love. Hugs, pat

  5. beautiful and awesome…i love the way you write……this poem spoke so much and beautiful use of three words…..

    now let me know hoe to follow you

Leave a Reply

