Red Light District

red light

To reveal my heart

Is to invite infection

Another layer

To stymy the flow of blood

Another truncated smile

*

Delivered with grace

Despite an abiding nausea

I retract my claws

And shroud my spirit within

The flesh can act unaided

*

Hope is salt water,

A necessary anguish

That can, if misused,

Result in fatality

Survival is tantamount

 

14 responses to “Red Light District

  1. Wow. This poem takes you to some really dark places but light needs to be shined on these places in order to expose them to the world. Good for you for not whitewashing the truth.

  2. How are you?
    Please consider making a contribution to poets rally week 43 today,
    A free verse is appreciated, you rock!
    Happy Thursday!
    Hope to see you in.
    xoxox

    share as soon as possible to get better feedback. thanks, best regards.

  3. Thank you =) I think I did put a link up to a poem didn’t I? It’s under Candice Daoud though I think maybe I should’ve used the name of the poem not my name. I can never decide which poem to use though that’s the tough part!

  4. Tragedy of human principals. l was in Amsterdam in 2009 and l saw the dismay and despair of a lost generation what is more tragic the red light district is next to a church. A society on its way to decay.Jalal

Leave a Reply

