Pause

– wallpaperswide.com

The sting of foreign lips

A blunt tongue

Grinding, inevitable

The addition of you,

A love without course

Without warning.

A broken heart

Does not waste

The sweet quartet,

The steady rival

A job as natural

As breathing.

Everyday I watch you

Percolating, from filter to gut

Thick in overture

I choke on your abrasions

The regretful kindlings

Of a subsequent pause.

The clench of your cloaca

A responsive echo

I gather eggs by the plenty

The cumbersome dilation

The unspoilt farce

An inhalation to forget.

For

https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com/2015/07/07/photo-challenge-68-pause-july-07-2015/

19 thoughts on “Photo Challenge #68 “Pause” and Wordle #153

  1. You are one of my top five online poets. I genuinely enjoy your work and look forward to reading you every day. Your pain is my pleasure. 😉 Such is the life of a poet, right?

    That picture is awesome. I really feel a connection to it.

    These are my favorite lines of your poem:

    “The sting of foreign lips
    A blunt tongue
    Grinding, inevitable”

    “Percolating, from filter to gut
    Thick in overture
    I choke on your abrasions”

    “The clench of your cloaca
    A responsive echo”

    “An inhalation to forget.”

    Please know that you are brilliant and deep. I know how lonely you must be. It’s far easier to be dim-witted, I’m pretty sure. But there is great meaning and purpose in your life, in your words. You have a beautiful black soul.

    1. Awww thank you so much for your gorgeous compliment! I am fortunate to have a loving husband who supports me and although we are opposites in many respects that love keeps me from withdrawing entirely, it also keeps me challenging myself. I have a group for writers as well and that gives me a sense of community and belonging and even though I am often distant/disconnected I feel very deeply and love very deeply.

Leave a comment