182

Brenda Warren

Lotion does not ease

The passage of a heart

Once the pulp has set,

Anymore than liquor

Exonerates the suffering soul.

We all have ghosts

In our mirrors and chickens

Dozing in the hinges

Of our open diaries.

My brain sloths in the presence

Of your pitiful machine.

I lust the reel behind

Your gimmick-ridden eyes,

It must be torture to live

Sewn into the uniform

Of your hypnotizing flesh

Never free the train that rapes you.

Nothing spoils like ink on revision

The sultry muse who teases

Without origination, without obligation.

The plump, unfertilized womb

That bleeds her loneliness monthly.

I await my divisions, my miracles

My tears burst on the pads of your thumbs

A diaphanous spore cannibalizing

What it cannot readily possess.

For

MLMM Tree
banner

18 thoughts on “Bloody Mary Wordle#182 and Writing Prompt#108

  1. she
    noticed
    his
    lust
    for
    liquor
    and
    the
    way
    he
    would
    tease
    the
    chickens
    hypnotizing
    them
    with
    a
    gimmick
    or
    two
    but
    she
    had
    brains
    and
    did
    not
    like
    machines
    or
    a
    man
    in
    uniform
    with
    lotion
    on
    his
    slicked
    back
    hair
    riding
    trains
    to
    nowhere
    so
    she
    gathered
    the
    hens
    protecting
    their
    delicate
    flesh
    and
    left
    the
    man
    to
    torture
    himself
    with
    his
    own
    devices

  2. Interesting way to combine the prompts – certainly intriguing and if I was a therapist – you’d have me scratching my head in many ways – AND I mean that as a compliment XD

Leave a comment